Recycling Bins

Right-wing blogger Dizzy Thinks tells us about a conversation his wife had with the local council regarding getting a bigger recycling bin. It starts with:

Mrs Dizzy: Hi, is that the Refuse Department?
Council: Yes
Mrs D: Look, you collect my recycling every other week and my ordinary black bin rubbish every other week, right?
Council: Yes
Mrs D: Well the thing is, I fill the recycling wheelie bin up within a week and then have to take the rest to tip because you don’t take extra bags. The tip guys just tell me, because it’s mixed recycling, to chuck it in the “Cannot be recycled” bin. So I was wondering, can I get a larger wheelie bin for my recycling?
Council: You can but you need to prove you’re recycling more than will fit in the bin.
Mrs D: Errrr OK.
Council: If I can take your number, I will get one of our recycling officers to call you and visit your house the day before your bins are collected to confirm you need a bigger bin.
Mrs D: But that means I will be keeping lots of bags loose for a week and they’ll get ripped open by foxes.
Council: I’m afraid this is the process for getting a larger bin, we have to inspect you to check that you really need it.
Mrs D: So you mean I have to take a day off work and wait for your inspector to come round and check inside my bin and decide whether it is overflowing enough?

You can see the outcome of Mrs Dizzy versus the local council Refuse Department here. Yes, it’s been a slow news day!

